Behind My Back

Do you ever wonder what people say about you behind your back?
Is it good or is it bad?
When you leave the room, do they yearn to have you back?
Or does your absence make them glad?

2016 taught me a bunch of lessons.
It taught me that smiles fade away in a matter of seconds.
You can’t trust those who smile at you and act right in your presence,
Because in your absence,
Some of them slither behind your back and hiss at you like serpents.

The more people I meet, the more frequent my ears ring.
My only concern is whether or not they speak ill of me.
I know they do, because its always my left ear that feels the itch.
I know at least one of them is an Angel who genuinely cares about me.
But at the same time, I know at least one of them is a witch.
I’m just trying to take their masks off and figure out which one is which!

2 thoughts on “Behind My Back

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

