It’s what’s on the inside that matters. OH REALLY???

Insecurity and introversion. Do the two always come packaged together like a pair of butt cheeks? Scientifically speaking, I wouldn’t know. However I have noticed that some introverts tend to be very insecure, I myself included.

People always ask me, “How come you never post selfies or put profile pics of yourself?” I always come up with a silly excuse but the truth is I’m insecure about how I look. I’ve only admitted about my insecurity to a handful of people and they always give me the following bullcrap response, “It’s not about how you look on the outside. It’s about what’s on the inside.” OH REALLY???

Dear Human beings. Let us stop lying to ourselves. Although this is a great philosophy to live by, how many of us actually live by it? It’s all rubbish! I don’t judge people by the way they look. I’m sure you probably don’t too but it would be naïve of us to ignore the fact that we live in a superficial world. Don’t think so? Well here’s my proof:

Exhibit A: The love at first sight crap. They say it only takes a few seconds for a girl to decide if she likes a guy or not. Fair enough. In that first sight or first few seconds, what attributes does a girl use to decide whether she likes a guy or not. Surely she can’t decode a guy’s character (what’s on the inside) in the first few seconds which only leaves what’s on the outside. Most girls use looks to judge guys. Henceforth I believe the correct term is “Lust (NOT LOVE) at first sight”. This is all fine, if you’re a good looking guy. However, this sucks big time for some of us who are not “facially gifted”. I might not have an awesome character, but what I do lack in looks I try to make up for through my personality. Since you’re not good looking, your only shot of impressing the person you like is through your character. Now how am I supposed to impress my crush with my character if she “friendzones” or rejects me within the first 7 seconds she lays her eyes on me.  All because I’m not good looking? So if you believe in love at first sight then Congratulations! You played yourself. You’re superficial and you don’t even know it.

played

Exhibit B: There are those people who can fall in love with a person even if they are not attractive. Well Kudos to them. Such people give me hope. However, a percentage of those people may decide not to be with you even if they like you because they are afraid of what their friends will say. Sure they like you, but do they want to be seen in public with you?? Erm… not so much. Once more, your looks have failed you.

Exhibit C: I’m starting to see a gradual increase in the number of job vacancies that require you to include a recent photo of yourself in your application. WTF does my face have to do with whether or not I qualify for the job? It’s because they want to judge you by the way you look. If you look like [insert name of hot actor/actress here] then you have absolutely nothing to worry about. However, if you’re not so good looking I’d suggest you save yourself the heartbreak and avoid applying for such jobs.

Exhibit D: Now this one is for the ladies that still don’t agree with everything I’ve said in this post so far. Take a look at the list of guys you have placed in the friendzone. Are any of them hot? It’s okay. I’ll wait…. Of COURSE NOT! It’s very rare for a girl to friendzone a hot guy (unless the guy is obviously a jerk or has issues). It’s only the facially challenged comrades that get an automatic qualification into your friendzone list. This works the same way for guys as well. Once again, congratulations you played yourself. You’re superficial!

Exhibit E: According to http://pattmd.com/cosmetic-surgery-2/much-america-spend-plastic-surgery/ America spent 12 billion in cosmetic surgery in 2013 alone. Here is an extract from the article:

Cosmetic surgery is currently experiencing a boom in America as MORE and MORE Americans seek to ALTER their LOOKS.

Now why would one want to alter their looks? For themselves? Obviously not! It’s not like they’ll walk around looking in the mirror 24/7. People alter their looks so they can improve the way people perceive them as well as be attractive to people.

Basically, if you’re not good looking then you are screwed socially, relationship-wise and probably even career-wise. I know it’s not fair but that’s just how the system works. I’m not too happy to be the one to break it down to you but let us all call a spade a spade and admit we live in a superficial world and that we are probably all superficial. Shoot! I might even be superficial myself. So let us stop telling each other “It’s what’s on the inside that matters” because what is on the outside is all that counts at first glance in this world. Like it or Love it!

 

Ps: I’d like to hear your thoughts. Please feel free to leave a comment. You can find me at my permanent place of residence: IN YOUR GIRLFRIEND’S FRIENDZONE.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

